Democratic Republic of Congo Phase II

Posted on


DRC phase 2 brief

By Fifa A Rahman & Elia Badjo

The Democratic Republic of the Congo (DRC) is the second largest country in Africa, located in
Central Africa and is bordered by Angola, Burundi, the Central African Republic, Rwanda, South Sudan, Tanzania, Uganda, and Zambia. In 2018, it was estimated that 73% of the Congolese population live on less than USD$1.90 per day. There were 2.7 million internal displacements in eastern provinces of DRC and the Kasai region in 2021. According to the WHO COVID-19 Tracker, as of June 2022, only 1.91% of the population have been fully vaccinated, meaning that it is one of the countries with the lowest vaccination rates in the world.